Sign up for our newsletter


Transcontinental Race awards three bursaries in memory of Mike Hall

Emma Cole
20 Apr 2022

Three riders from lower income households will receive a bursary to ride the TCR this year

Three riders from lower income households have received the Mike Hall Adventure Bursary award and will participate in the widely anticipated eighth edition of the Transcontinental race (TCR), or TCRNo8.

The recipients are 41-year-old Rebecca McWass who has fibromyalgia, 35-year-old Hashim who is originally from Somalia and Amrei, a mid-twenties geography student. 

Arguably the most prestigious ultra-cycling event, the TCR is a self-supported bike race across Europe where riders plan their own route but must include several checkpoints.

Riders typically cover 4,000km to reach the finish line.

‘We're really excited to have Hashim, Becky and Amrei ride with us this year. Opening up the race to people who are passionate about cycling but who, in the past, have been unable to compete due to the cost is really important to us,’ says David Ayre, race coordinator for the Transcontinental and Trans Pyrenees races.

What is the Mike Hall Bursary?

The Mike Hall Bursary was created in 2020 in memory of Transcontinental Race founder Mike Hall, regarded as one of the greatest endurance cyclists of all time, who was killed in a road accident during the Indian Pacific Wheel Race in Australia in 2017.

The bursary supports riders from lower income households and gives each recipient a free entry to the race and €1,500 to help cover the costs of racing.

‘The bursary is an important part of us nurturing Mike Hall’s legacy, ensuring that you do not need deep pockets when you have passion, determination and man’s greatest invention at your disposal,’ adds Ayre.

‘The values of inclusivity, equality and respect underpin all our work, as well as courage: be that the courage to take on the challenge of one of our races, or the courage to stand up for what we believe in.’

Image credit: James Robertson

After being postponed for two years due to Covid-19, TCRNo8 will start on 24th July 2022 in Geraardsbergen, Belgium, the same day as the Tour de France Femmes.

Previous winners of the TCR include James Hayden in 2017 and 2018 and Fiona Kolbinger in 2019, the first female and rookie winner.

TCRNo8 will be the last time Anna Haslock, Hall's partner, organises the race.

Want to learn more about ultra cycling? Check out our guide to dotwatching or read about how ultracycling affects the body

Read more about: