Sign up for our newsletter


Women’s Tour 2022: Route, riders and all you need to know

All the key information about the 2022 Women’s Tour. Race photos: SWpix

Will Strickson
6 Jun 2022

Women’s Tour 2022: Key information

Dates: Monday 6th June to Saturday 11th June 2022  
Start: Colcheter, Essex  
Finish: Oxford, Oxfordshire  
Stages: 6  
UK television coverage: Each stage will have live coverage on Eurosport and GCN+. Stage 1: 10h55-15h30; Stage 2: 12h30-14h00; Stage 3: 12h30-14h30; Stage 4: 14h00-15h30; Stage 5: 11h30-14h30; Stage 6: 10h55-15h30 (all finish times approx). Hour-long highlights of every stage will be shown on ITV4 each evening.  

Women’s Tour 2022: Route and stages

Just 238 days since Demi Vollering completed her domination of the 2021 Women’s Tour, the race is back.

This time out, it begins in Essex and finishes in Oxfordshire, with trips to Gloucestershire and Wales between, in what looks a fitting parcours for the premier women’s race in the UK.

With the inaugural Tour de France Femmes under two months away, the Women’s Tour might be the perfect place for potential yellow jersey wearers to test their legs.

While last year’s champ Vollering won’t be returning to defend her title, her SD Worx team is packed with elite talent including Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio, Chantal van den Broek-Blaak and Marlen Reusser, to try to keep the victory in the squad.

Challenging them will be Trek-Segafredo’s always competitive super squad, which features new Hour Record holder Ellen van Dijk alongside Elisa Longo Borghini, Audrey Cordon Ragot, Elynor Backstedt and co.

Elsewhere, former winner Kasia Niewiadoma will be looking to make up for what she has admitted to being a disappointing season so far.

In the sprints, the rider to beat will be Lorena Wiebes. The Team DSM star is undoubtedly the best sprinter in the world and recently won all three stages of the RideLondon Classique.

There are two British teams taking part in Le Col-Wahoo and CAMS-Basso, while there are 15 British riders to keep your eyes on.

Stage 1, Monday 6th June: Colchester to Bury St Edmonds, 142.1km

Stage 1 is a relatively straightforward stage from newly appointed city Colchester to Bury St Edmonds in Suffolk.

With only two minor categorised climbs to contend with and a long, straight run-in to the finish, it should be one for the sprinters, ie, Lorena Wiebes.

Winner: Clara Copponi (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope); GC leader: Clara Copponi 

Stage 2, Tuesday 7th June: Harlow to Harlow, 92.1km

Stage 2 goes back up for an all-Essex affair, starting and finishing in the town of Harlow.

Again, there’s nothing crazy profile-wise, but with the climbs coming late in the day, they could act as a springboard to an attack.

Winner: Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM); GC leader: Clara Copponi (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope)

Stage 3, Wednesday 8th June: Tewksbury to Gloucester, 107.9km

Go west, there’ll be racing there. Go west, etc... Stage 3 goes west to Gloucestershire, starting in Tewksbury and finishing in Gloucester itself.

Our biggest climbing day so far ascends two Cat 2 climbs – and as you can see from the profile that’s not all the climbing – which will probably see a breakaway win and a reduced peloton.

Winner: Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM); GC leader: Lorena Wiebes

Stage 4, Thursday 9th June: Wrexham to Welshpool, 144.7km

Further west still is Stage 4, the first of two stages in Wales, beginning in Wrexham and finishing in Welshpool, not far from the English border.

Wales means climbs. Sprinters won’t even dream of this one with such a stalagmital profile and there’s almost certain to be a GC shakeup.

Winner: Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope); GC leader: Grace Brown

Stage 5, Friday 10th June: Pembrey Country Park to The Black Mountain, 106.6km

Stage 5 will be the decider though, as the race heads from Pembrey Country Park to The Black Mountain.

The entire race will boil down to that mighty final climb. Don't miss this. Watch for Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio.

Winner: Elisa Longo Borghini (Trek-Segafredo); GC leader: Grace Brown (FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope)

Stage 6, Saturday 11th June: Chipping Norton to Oxford, 142.9km

Back east the race heads on the final stage for a roll through Oxfordshire from Chipping Norton to Oxford.

Although a bit lumpy to start, this should be a bunch sprint for Wiebes.

Women’s Tour 2022: start list


SD Worx (NED)

Chantal van den Broek-Blaak
Elena Cecchini
Roxane Fournier
Christine Majerus
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
Marlen Reusser

Team DSM (NED)

Pfeiffer Georgi
Lorena Wiebes
Megan Jastrab
Leah Kirchmann
Franziska Koch
Charlotte Kool

FDJ Nouvelle-Aquitaine Futuroscope (FRA)

Clara Copponi
Grace Brown
Eugénie Duval
Emilia Fahlin
Maëlle Grossetête
Marie Le Net

Movistar Team (ESP)

Sheyla Gutierrez Ruiz
Sara Martin Martin
Alicia Gonzalez Blanco
Barbara Guarischi
Lourdes Oyarbide Jimenez
Glora Rodriguez Sanchez

Canyon/Sram Racing (GER)

Katarzyna Niewiadoma
Alice Barnes
Shari Bossuyt
Elise Chabbey
Tiffany Cromwell
Mikayla Harvey

Le Col-Wahoo (GBR)

Marjolein van't Geloof
Elizabeth Holden
April Tacey
Maike van der Duin
Jesse Vandenbulcke
Gladys Verhulst

Team BikeExchange-Jayco (AUS)

Alexandra Manly
Teniel Campbell
Kristen Faulkner
Arianna Fidanza
Nina Kessler
Georgia Williams

EF Education-TIBCO-SVB (USA)

Abi Smith
Letizia Borghesi
Krita Doebel-Hickok
Veronica Ewers
Tanja Erath
Omer Shapira

Team Coop-Hitec Products (NOR)

Jessica Roberts
Ane Iversen
Ingvild Gåskjenn
Mari Hole Mohr
Tiril Jørgensen


Sofia Bertizzolo
Maaike Boogaard
Alessia Patuelli
Laura Tomasi
Anna Trevisi
Sophie Wright

CAMS-Basso (GBR)

Sophie Lewis
Beth Morrow
Katie Scott
Danielle Shosbree
Becky Storrie
Sammie Stuart

Trek-Segafredo (USA)

Elisa Longo Borghini
Audrey Cordon Ragot
Elynor Backstedt
Lauretta Hanson
Chloe Hosking
Ellen van Dijk

Liv Racing Xstra (NED)

Alison Jackson
Thalita de Jong
Eva Buurman
Quinty Tonn
Tereza Neumanová

Human Powered Health (USA)

Mieke Kröger
Nina Buijsman
Henrietta Christie
Evy Kuijpers
Marit Raaijmakers
Lily Williams

Team Jumbo-Visma (NED)

Coryn Labecki
Teuntje Beekhuis
Romy Kasper
Riejanne Markus
Karijn Swinkels

Uno-X Pro Cycling (NOR)

Hannah Ludwig
Joscelin Lowden
Julie Leth
Mie Bjørndal Ottestad
Anne Dorthe Ysland

Ceratizit-WNT Pro Cycling (GER)

Laura Asencio
Franziska Brauße
Maria Giulia Confalonieri
Marta Lach
Kathrin Schweinberger